Refreshing Rooibos at Selah Tea Cafe

Selah Tea Window

Recently, K and I stopped at one of my favorite teatime spots—Selah Tea Cafe, in Waterville, Maine.

When presented with an assortment of scrumptious teas, I often choose rooibos, a red tea made from the leaves of a South African plant. I like its earthy, slightly sweet taste, and the way it complements other favorite flavors, like vanilla and cinnamon.

DSC03521

This time, I chose a Belgian Chocolate rooibos. It was rich and fragrant, with a deep caramel color and a warming, reviving taste. The chocolatey herbal flavor comes from the addition of calendula (a flower resembling marigold) leaves and cacao (cocoa bean) pieces. Consider it a tea translation of well-crafted chocolate.

K ordered French press coffee, and my tea infusion came in a French press of its own, along with a little hourglass timer to let me know when my tea had steeped to its optimum level.

DSC03531

Breakfast sandwiches with sides of fruit and home fries transformed tea and coffee-time into a nourishing repast. It was just what I needed to refresh my spirits on a gray summer day, as I set out on the first part of our cross-country move.

The experience reminded me of the hearty teatime that has historically sustained British workers. The practice of blurring the line between high tea and supper shows that tea-taking is not only the delicate upper class ritual that often comes to mind.

Do you make time for tea during chaotic times? What are your favorite blends or varieties?

roundteasig

6 thoughts on “Refreshing Rooibos at Selah Tea Cafe

  1. I often reach for rooibos in the afternoon or during the evening (morning is for coffee and assam tea). Vanilla is my rooibos flavour of choice, but I had no idea there was a belgian chocolate flavour out there – sounds entirely delicious.

    Like

    • Yes, morning is for coffee for me, too. I love vanilla rooibos, but the Belgian chocolate was a nice change. It was a rich, dark herbal taste more than a literal chocolate taste, but delicious nonetheless.

      Like

  2. This looks absolutely delightful! I love small tearooms, there aren’t many locally but I still make time for a cup of tea every day, even if it is just PG Tips, although I do like peppermint sometimes, lovely pictures and writing as always Cory!

    Like

  3. Your cafe — your morning — looks so perfect in so many ways! I love tea and often reach for rooibos. Highwire Coffee Roasters in Rockridge (Oakland) carries the most amazing variety, called Capetown Rooibos. I once even made cookies out of it, to celebrate it. Highly recommended!

    Like

Leave a Reply

